Posted by: hazelmeda | October 12, 2012

In-depth 11 October 2012

I got some feedback from my mentors about restructuring my essay and am now trying to do that.

I managed to speak to a prison psychologist who used to work at Pollsmoor and she was effusive but not very focused in terms of what I needed for my project. But she did give me some helpful comments about the no-contact visit policy pertaining to remand detainees. She was very kind and interesting to listen to and displayed real passion for her subject. She still counsels parolees and has written some articles as well. Dr Sandy Hoffman of Cape Town.

I also spoke to Dr Gillian Eagle, head of psychology here at Wits, who gave me her thoughts on family ties and preventing recidivism.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

