Posted by: hazelmeda | October 5, 2012

In-depth 5 October 2012

After listening to the interviews I have got so far, I have an idea of further questions to ask the family I am writing about as my case study. I will be going back to Soweto today, to interview the wife of the former offender. I hope their daughter will be there as well. She saw him in Bloemfontein prison when she was seven years old but didn’t see him again until his release when she was 14. Incredible.

I hope that we will be able to communicate effectively, so that I can get some depth in terms of the answers the family will give me. With the other interviews I conducted at the Magistrate’s Court on Fox Street on Monday, I realised that language was a barrier and I couldn’t get beyond basic answers.

I also hope to gather more visual material today- photos. To be honest, this is the aspect of the project which makes me nervous, because it’s not my strong point. I told Joanne and Ruth H that I want to do a radio piece instead, but I will try to get visuals and see what I can come up with.

I am meeting with my mentor, Fred, in 30 minutes’ time and I’m hoping that I will have a better sense of direction after that meeting. I think it’s important for me to start writing something tonight, just to get over that psychological barrier!

Leave a Reply

Categories

