Posted by: hazelmeda | October 5, 2012

In-depth 4 October 2012

I decided not to go out today and instead to take stock of the material I have gathered so far and transcribe some interviews, so I can see what direction I have to take with my project. I listened to the interviews I did with a social worker at the prisoner reintegration NGO Nicro and also the extensive interview I did with a former offender about how he maintained contact with his family. I realised that I take for granted the fact that I can easily buy an envelope when I want to send a letter. He reminded me that for some people the cost of an envelope is prohibitive. I was also touched and saddened by the fact that he received a family visit only once in the nine years he was in Bloemfontein prison, since his family couldn’t afford to make the trip except on that one occasion.

Leave a Reply

Categories

