Posted by: hazelmeda | October 2, 2012

In-depth 2 October 2012

Today was a somewhat frustrating day. My classmate and I had made an appointment in Soweto with a former remand detainee. We confirmed with him yesterday, but when we got there he was nowhere to be found and was said to be 40km away.

This afternoon, I established contact with another former prisoner and will go and see him in Soweto tomorrow afternoon.

I have also got the name of a Wits pyschology professor who has apparently done some work on prisoners and violence, so I am hoping that he will be able to help me or refer me to someone who can help me with the psychosocial  aspect of my topic, family contact with prisoners.

Tomorrow will be a busy day – two interviews lined up and I am hoping those people will lead me to other helpful sources.

Leave a Reply

Categories

